Roger Waters shares video for poignant new song “The Last Refugee”


Roger Waters shares video for poignant new song “The Last Refugee”.

First solo LP in over two decades, Is This the Life We Really Want?, lands next month.

On June 2nd, Roger Waters will triumphantly return with his first solo album in 25 years, Is This the Life We Really Want?.

The Pink Floyd frontman’s offering, today’s “The Last Refugee”, follows suit quality-wise.

Waters’ voice is tender here, and backed by a similarly gentle mix of piano and minimal percussion. Its corresponding music video, helmed by Waters and past collaborator director Sean Evans, takes the emotional level up a notch by reminding us of the humanity of the Syrian refugee crisis — something that’s too often forgotten and obscured when politics and bureaucracy come into play.


MUSE share action-packed video for new single “Dig Down”


MUSE share action-packed video for new single “Dig Down”.

The English band’s first release in nearly two years.

Muse return today with their first new release since 2015’s Drones. Titled “Dig Down”, the track is a stuttering, mostly sparse number with hints of glam rock flare. The single was co-produced by Mike Elizondo and Muse and mixed by Spike Stent.

Accompanying the track is an action-packed video directed by Lance Drake (Twin Shadow, Miike Snow). Aptly, it stars someone who knows quite a bit about persevering through tragedy: Lauren Wasser, a former model and athlete who lost her leg to toxic shock syndrome.


UNDER THE RADAR: Beach House – “Chariot”


UNDER THE RADAR: Beach House – “Chariot”.

Beach House has shared the track “Chariot” off their upcoming album B-Sides and Rarities, a collection of 14 tracks that never made it onto any of their 6 previous albums.

“Chariot” comes from the Depression Cherry and Thank Your Lucky Stars era; both albums were released in 2015 only months apart. In a press release, they explain, “When we announced that we were releasing a B-sides and rarities album, someone on Twitter asked, ‘B-sides record? Why would Beach House put out a B-sides record? Their A-sides are like B-sides.’ This random person has a point. Our goal has never been to make music that is explicitly commercial. Over the years, as we have worked on our 6 LPs, it wasn’t the ‘best’ or most catchy songs that made the records, just the ones that fit together to make a cohesive work. Accordingly, our B-sides are not songs that we didn’t like as much, just ones that didn’t have a place on the records we were making.” 





Algiers have had a hell of a couple of years. In 2015, they dropped a fiercely original debut album that found an uncharted sweet spot between industrial rhythm and noise, post-punk guitar skreeeee, and the smoldering intensity of Southern black gospel.

Wide acclaim, a few videos, and heavy touring followed, and the band’s core trio of singer/guitarist Franklin Fisher, bassist/synthesist Ryan Mahan, and guitarist Lee Tesche was augmented by touring (and now permanent) drummer Matt Tong, formerly of Bloc Party. In between all their rock labors, they wrote a second album, The Underside of Power, and WOW.

Though the new album isn’t due until June 23rd, the band released the first video from The Underside of Power —and it’s the album’s title track.

.dangerous minds

UNDER THE RADAR: Mogwai – “Coolverine”


UNDER THE RADAR: Mogwai – “Coolverine”.

The band has announced a September 1st release for Every Country’s Sun, their ninth LP and first since the departure of guitarist John Cummings, who left in late 2015. Coming from Temporary Residence (Rock Action in the UK and Spunk in Australia), the album was produced by David Lawrence (The Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev). After sharing ideas via Dropbox, the band met up at Fridmann’s Tarbox Road Studios in Chautauqua County, NY to record the 11-track effort.

As a first listen, Mogwai has shared the album’s lead single, “Coolverine”.


UNDER THE RADAR: Fleet Foxes – “Fool’s Errand”


UNDER THE RADAR: Fleet Foxes – “Fool’s Errand”.

Fleet Foxes have released their first video off of Crack-Up, coming out June 16 on Nonesuch. The video is for the single “Fool’s Errand” and was directed by frontman Robin Pecknold’s brother Sean Pecknold.

Crack-Up will be their first album since 2011’s Helplessness Blues and will be featuring a slightly different lineup (no Josh Tillman unfortunately). The current Fleet Foxes lineup is Robin Pecknold (vocals, multi-instrumentalist), Skyler Skjelset (multi-instrumentalist, vocals), Casey Wescott (multi-instrumentalist, vocals), Christian Wargo (multi-instrumentalist, vocals), and Morgan Henderson (multi-instrumentalist). Fleet Foxes perform next week.

.under the radar

UNDER THE RADAR: Kevin Morby – “Aboard My Train”


UNDER THE RADAR: Kevin Morby – “Aboard My Train” .

Folk-rocker Kevin Morby is returning in June with new album City Music, and now he’s shared “Aboard My Train,” a propulsive number that slowly picks up steam on its way to an exultant and totally earned climax.

The video, which Morby directed himself, shows him writing the names of people who affected his life on a mirror.

City Music is out 6/16 on Dead Oceans.

UNDER THE RADAR: Finnmark! – “Going Nowhere”


UNDER THE RADAR: Finnmark! – “Going Nowhere”.

The Scandinavian and cycling obsessed Indie-poppers, fronted by former Just Handshakes bassist Edward Forth, have been quietly putting out excellent music since 2013. Going Nowhere marks their first new material, a one-off single about cycling aside, since 2015’s album Things Always Change.

Musically it’s something of a shift for Finnmark!, as it builds around a rumbling Joy Division-like bass line, minimal drum pulse and gorgeousjangling guitars.

.for the rabbits